21-Man Roster Includes 18 Players with U.S. Soccer Development Academy Ties;
All U.S. Group Matches to Be Broadcast on FS2 and Universo

CHICAGO (Sept. 21, 2017)–U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach John Hackworth has named a 21-player roster for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India, which runs from Oct.6-28.

“This cycle of players is unique in terms of the quality, depth and work ethic of the group,” Hackworth said. “The biggest challenge in selecting this roster was the competition for spots at almost every position. Our team is looking forward to this opportunity to compete for the U-17 World Cup and are motivated to prove themselves on the world stage.” The group departs Sept. 24 for training in Dubai, where the remaining players will join the camp prior to arrival in India.
The USA was drawn into Group A with Colombia, Ghana and India. The team opens group play vs. India on Oct. 6 (10:30 a.m. ET), followed by matches against Ghana on Oct. 9 (7:30 a.m.ET) and Colombia on Oct. 12 (10:30 a.m. ET). The first two games will be played at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi, while the final group game will be played at Dr. DY Patil Stadium
in Navi Mumbai. All of the U.S.’s group matches will be broadcast live on FS2 and UNIVERSO. The World Cup will be played in six cities across India: Kochi, Goa, Navi Mumbai, New Delhi, Guwahati, and Kolkata. A total of 24 countries participate in the tournament with the top two teams from each of the six groups, as well as the four best third- place teams, advance to the Round of 16 on October 16, 17, and 18. The championship and third-place matches take place Saturday, Oct. 28, at the 66,600 – capacity Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan Stadium in Kolkata.
U.S. 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup Roster by Position:
Alex Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Carlos Joaquim Dos
Santos (S.L. Benfica; Philadelphia, Penn.), Justin Garces (Atlanta United FC; Miami, Fla.)
Sergiño Dest (Ajax; Almere-stad, Netherlands), Christopher Gloster (New
York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James
Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Tyler Shaver (New York City FC; Greenwich, Conn.),Akil
Watts (Portland Timbers, Fort Wayne, Ind.)
George Acosta (North Carolina FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real
Salt Lake; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar
Soccer Club; Southlake,Texas), Chris Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana
Vassilev (Unattached; Savannah, Ga.)
Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United
FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Jacobo Reyes (C.F. Monterrey; Houst
on, Texas), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallon,
Mo.), Tim Weah (Paris Saint-Germain F.C., Rosedale, N.Y.)